Mod Goes Viral
Wednesday, July 30th, 2008Update – Clicking the second ’s’ in the Remote Access link takes you to the Black Mesa (Source) mod website.
Update 2 – That link has been changed a few times since I last updated this, whatever this is just an attempt by a mod at getting some exposure. They succeeded, but only because the initial impression was that this was a Valve piece of work.
Original Story
Damn it.
Is Valve re-entering the Viral marketing world? Prior to the release of Portal Aperture Science was found on the web and masses of information was uncovered by many people who were eagerly anticipating Portal. A new site knows as Black Mesa Research has recently surfaced on the web. Look at the ‘About Us’ and ‘Latest News’ sections.
Black Mesa is the world leader in advanced technology research and development. From medical devices and pharmaceuticals to commercial space transportation, to body armor that protects America’s brave servicemen and women on the front lines, Black Mesa develops and builds the technology that powers your life.
Black Mesa wins $5 billion defense contract, beating out rival Aperture Science.
What does this all mean? Well the ‘Contact’ e-mail address leads to an immediate Delivery Status Notification reply and a Whois.Net search doesn’t indicate a Seattle based registration which is where Valve is based.
To throw a further spanner in the works a ‘John Q. Fake’ sent an e-mail to the halflife2.net news address telling us to look closer at this thread which was started on the 17th July.
Furthemore there is a ‘Aemote Access’ link at the bottom on the Black Mesa Research site which require a username and password. I am sure someone can dig up more on this.


